Travis Pastrana Returns to Subaru for 2020 Rally Season

March 12, 2020



Camden, N.J. – Subaru Motorsports USA today announced a revamped driver lineup for the 2020 American Rally Association (ARA) season, highlighted by the full-time return of American rally icon and action sports star Travis Pastrana. A five-time national rally champion with Subaru and one of the world’s best-known action sports athletes, Pastrana will look to capture his sixth U.S. title in his first full season since 2017. He will be joined by Canadian rally driver and freeride mountain bike legend Brandon Semenuk, who moves to Subaru Motorsports USA for his first full season of U.S. rally competition.


“I’m stoked to be back in a Subaru again!” said Pastrana. “The last couple of years I’ve been itching to get back in a rally car full-time and compete for a championship, and Subaru is where it all began for me in rally. I’m also really excited to have Brandon as my teammate. He’s got a ton of talent and I know he’ll be fast once he gets a feel for the car, so I’m expecting some great competition between the two of us.”


“This season is going to be a blast,” Semenuk said. “I’ve been rallying for the last few years, but the STI is a big step up in performance. Travis knows the STI really well, so I’m going to take it one event at a time to learn as much as I can and get my pace up. The car is really exciting to drive and I’m getting more confident with it in testing. I can’t wait to put in some stage miles and see how we measure up.”


Travis Pastrana debuted in a Subaru rally car in 2005 having already made his mark in motocross and supercross competition, and immediately established himself as a force on four wheels. At the 2006 X Games, Pastrana landed the first double backflip ever attempted in freestyle motocross competition and the next day took home the Games’ inaugural Rally Car gold medal, making him an instant two-sport star and helping to raise the profile of rally for a generation of young action sports fans. Pastrana would go on to win his first U.S. rally championship that year with Subaru Rally Team USA and repeat as champion three more times through 2009.