top of page
  • Writer's pictureARA Staff

Sixth Straight Overall for Semenuk/Williams with SOFR Win

Photo Credit: Matt Benz-Weeden/Avron Media

Chillicothe, Ohio ~ The streak continues for Brandon Semenuk and Keaton Williams as the Subaru Motorsports USA tandem drove to their sixth straight American Rally Association's Green APU National Rally Championship win in Ohio on Saturday.

Semenuk and Williams won all eleven stages, including the Power stage, on the final day of the Southern Ohio Forest Rally and all five ARA events in 2023. The defending series champions stretched their lead by more than two minutes on Saturday, taking the overall win by 7m 57secs.

Green APU's Patrick Gruszka and Florian Barral put a stranglehold on second overall with a Saturday filled with proper stage management and mistake-free driving. It marked their third straight podium finish, and they remain second overall in the national standings. The duo also drove their Hyundai i20 to the RC2 win at SOFR, finishing 2m 15secs ahead of the pairing of Allen Dobasu and Jared Hudson, who finished third overall. It marked Dobasu's first career overall ARA podium.

Photo Credit: Adam Bachi/Green APU

Tom Williams and Ross Whittock started the day eighth overall after losing nearly eight minutes to the leaders on SS5 on Friday. They pushed hard on Saturday and climbed up to fourth overall (and third in RC2) while also running the power stage second fastest.

2021 ARA RC2 champions Enda and Liam McCormack made their 2023 season debut, finishing fifth overall.

Photo Credit: Mike Trimpe Photography

Lia Block and Rhianon Gelsomino took another step towards their Open 2WD championship dreams by taking the class win (and finishing sixth overall) in Ohio. They bested Seamus Burke and Martin Brady by 2m 41secs.

Tim Rooney and Michel Rossey stood atop the LN4 podium on Saturday night. Ian and Hailey McCarty finished second, with Andy Didorosi and Bryce Proseus third.

Defending L2WD champion Chris Sladek and co-driver John Sharps won the Limited 2WD class at SOFR ahead of Sean Donnelly and Jeffrey Lantz.

(Note: A protest is in place, and all National Results will be published pending a final ruling.)

Photo Credit: American Rally Association

In ARA East Regional competition, defending SOFR winner Adam Kimmett and co-driver Krista Skucas entered the day with a 58.6-sec lead. It ended the day with a 59-sec overall win (as well as NA4WD honors).

Jon Kramer and Jason Smith (NA4WD) finished second overall and in the NA4WD class behind Kimmett.

Martin Spanhel and Zuzana Lieskovcova entered the day fourth overall and 19secs behind 100 Acre Wood winner Ryan Rethy and co-driver Dan Zopatti. Still, they ran a fast final loop, including the stage win on SS19 to move into third overall (and first in L4WD) by 10secs over Rethy.

Daniel and Samantha Downey took home regional O2WD honors in Ohio. The Limited 2WD win went to Matt McGee and Lauren Lambert.

The ARA's Green APU National Rally Championship moves east to the New England Forest Rally in upstate Maine and New Hampshire on July 14-15. Rally Colorado will also be run as an ARA Super Regional July 22-23.


Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment

Heeks Spoot
Heeks Spoot
Jun 22, 2023

Upgrade your BMW with the best performance parts and aftermarket accessories! Find high-quality BMW aftermarket parts near you and enhance your driving experience.

bottom of page